2013 Alpentour Trophy

The 2013 Alpentour Trophy promises an exciting battle between the mountainbike specialists and some of the best Cyclo-cross pro riders. Cyclo-cross can be compared to cross-country mountainbiking, but is shorter and of course the bikes are completely different. UCI World Cyclo-cross champion Sven Nijs already showed his skills in the Olympic MTB cross country race in London last year, closing the gap between CX and MTB.

This year his fellow Belgian CX pro’s from the Telenet Fidea team will have a go at one of the thoughest races in Europe: the Alpentour Trophy. The team is headed by Rob Peeters, vice world champion CX in 2012, together with Tom Meeusen and Joeri Adams for Belgium and Tijs Al for the Netherlands. The team is completed by under23 CX’er Jens Vandekinderen.

The AA-drink Cyclocross team  is delegated with the pro’s, Bart Aernouts  and Thijs Van Amerongen.


They will compete against former U23 world champion Cyclo-cross Enrico Franzoi. The Italian former Liquigas and Lampre pro rider has improved his cross country mountainbike skills over the last few years, resulting in an impressive 4th place finish in the 2013 Cape Epic. Enrico will be surrounded by only the best, because he gained his place in the team of Kristian Hynek, winner of the Alpentour Trophy 2012, reigning European champion XCM and bronze medallist at the worl championships XCM 2012.

The Alpentour Trophy runs from 30 May to 2 June. Start and Finish of each stage is at the Planai Stadium in Schladming. Except the 2nd stage (time trial) finishes at the Schafalm Planai.


All 4 stages are held in one of the famous Austrian ski areas Schladming Dachstein, Planai, Ramsau, Reiteralm and Haus im Ennstal.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply