Cyprus Sunshine Cup 2013.

Cyprus Sunshine Cup continues in 2013 with the same package as the years before. The dates for the three events on the Mediterranean island are set in February and March and Cyprus another time expects a bunch of world class mountainbike riders

Three events within two weeks, containing five days of high class racing in friendly climactic conditions, perfect for training and competing, that’s what all the ambitious mountainbikers are expecting from Cyprus Sunshine Cup. They get, what they want: that’s exactly what it was, all the years.

Olympic Gold medalist Jaroslav Kulhavy (Cze) in 2012 has kicked off his season in Cyprus as well as women’s Silver medalist Sabine Spitz (Ger) and many other successful riders. The Olympic Champion from 2008 has a long tradition in coming to Cyprus for several times a year and she will do so in 2013 also.

“Cyprus Cycling Federation and Cyprus Tourism Organization are happy to have Cyprus Sunshine Cup in 2013 also, continuing the long lasting work on the race series, which is good for the riders and good for the development of our beautiful island”, Mike Hadjioannou, head of the responsible Bikin’ Cyprus event agency, says.

Since years Voroklini is a kind of season opener in Europe. This time the race is to be held on Saturday (February, 23rd) because on Cyprus the election of the president is dated on 24th. “We wanted to avoid a conflict on organization matters. So we decided to race on Saturday”, Mike Hadjioannou explains.

In this case, there is one day more for training until the traditional Afxentia stage race in the Macheras Mountains kicks off following Friday. Afxentia bis again donated by the world cycling union UCI with the “Hors Class” category. Time trial, point to point and cross country race are summing up to the overall classement, which 2012 was won by Jaroslav Kulhavy (Specialized Racing) and his Czech country mate Tereza Hurikova (Sabine Spitz-Haibike).

The final is again held between the ruins of Amathous, in the outskirts of Limassol. Nine months ago, it was Emil Lindgren (Swe, Rabobank-Giant) who took the CSC overall and on women’s side Annika Langvad (Fujibikes-Rockets), who, later the year, crowned herself second time as marathon world champion.

Find more on


Dates Cyprus Sunshine Cup 2013


February, 23 Voroklini (C1)

March, 1 to 3 Afxentia Macheras Mountains (SHC)

March, 10 Amathous-Agios-Tychon (C1)

1 thought on “Cyprus Sunshine Cup 2013.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *